Fenton Area Chamber of Commerce
2017 FACC Scholarship Recipients
by Fenton Area Chamber of Commerce on June 9th, 2017

​The Fenton Area Chamber of Commerce presented 13 local high school seniors with scholarships at the annual Scholarship Luncheon on Wednesday, June 7th at Andre’s Banquets & Catering at Sunset Hills Golf Course. Since 1987, the Fenton Chamber has had the privilege of awarding 335 high school graduates with over $275,000 in scholarship funds to further their education.
This year’s scholarship recipients: from Rockwood Summit – Lauren Bishop, Jacob Burlison, Gianni Carcagno, Rachel Cooper, Clayton Lieberman, McKenna Mitchell, Michaela Murphy, Cody Sehie, Daniel Voss; from Lindbergh High School – Kieran Holbrook; from Northwest High School – Haley Miller & Donnazia Trigg; from Cor Jesu Academy – Kathleen Curran.
Kathleen Curran was awarded the 2017 Ginny Goede Scholarship, established in 2002 as a tribute to her untiring dedication to the Chamber, to helping others and to giving back to the community.  Kathleen spent the summer before her senior year at Cor Jesu Academy helping build and repair homes in Appalachia; she was also a group leader for the Teen ACTS retreat at Sacred Heart parish. In addition community service, Kathleen was President and Founder of the Spanish Club, Vice President of the History Club and achieved a High Honors Award for her Grade Point Average. Kathleen plans to major in Computer Science with a specialization in Cyber Security, her dream job being to work for the government, serving to protect our national security. Kathleen will attend DePauw University in Indiana this fall.
Members of the Fenton Area Chamber of Commerce along with the high school graduates and their families, were in attendance to honor the many outstanding successes and accomplishments of these scholars from the 63026 zip code.
This event is sponsored by Edward Jones – Sean C. King.  Awards were presented by Sean King (Edward Jones), Ginny Goede (The Jewelry Connection) and Missouri House Representative Shamed Dogan (District 98). Scholarship Recipients were also awarded with an official proclamation from the Missouri House of Representatives, recognizing each recipient’s achievements, including their receipt of a 2017 Fenton Chamber Scholarship. 
​Pictured (left to right): Michaela Murphy – Rockwood Summit; McKenna Mitchell – Rockwood Summit; Clayton Lieberman – Rockwood Summit; Rachel Cooper – Rockwood Summit; Jacob Burlison – Rockwood Summit; Haley Miller – Northwest High School; Lauren Bishop – Rockwood Summit; Deb Fruend – T.A.S.K., FACC Scholarship Committee; Ginny Goede – The Jewelry Connection, FACC Scholarship Committee; Rep. Shamed Dogan – Missouri House Representative (District 98); Kathleen Curran – Cor Jesu Academy; Sean King – Edward Jones; Jeannie Braun – FACC Executive Director

Posted in not categorized    Tagged with no tags


Leave a Comment